Best in the Basin Awards

2020 Best in the Basin Awards Program nominations open through June 18.

Now in its 30th year, TRPA’s annual Best in the Basin program showcases projects around the lake that demonstrate exceptional planning, implementation, and compatibility with Tahoe’s natural environment and communities. The categories are:

  • Building and general construction projects
  • Water quality, restoration, and erosion control projects
  • Defensible space and forest health projects
  • Public/Environmental Improvement Program projects
  • Sustainability actions and projects

Nominate a project here.

Questions? Contact Jeff Cowen at or (775) 589-5278.

Lake Spirit Awards


Nominations are currently closed.

2021 Lake Spirit Award Nomination Form – available in Fall 2021

In 2011, TRPA introduced the Lake Spirit Awards to recognize individuals in our community who show exceptional commitment to protecting Lake Tahoe. Besides nominations for an exemplary citizen of Lake Tahoe, people can also nominate someone in the agency representative/environmental scientist category.

We are looking for nominees who exhibit not only a strong commitment to the Lake Tahoe environment, but also model a spirit of collaboration and cooperation in their efforts. One North Shore and one South Shore winner will be selected for each category. If you know someone who has shown exceptional commitment to protecting Lake Tahoe that you would like to recognize, simply complete the below nomination form and send it in.

Thank you for sharing in our commitment to restoring Lake Tahoe while creating sustainable communities.

Questions? Contact Victoria Ortiz at or (775) 589-5251.  Thanks for your nomination!

Past Winners

2020 Spirit of TRPA Award Winners – In celebration of TRPA’s 50th anniversary, the agency bestowed “Spirit of TRPA” awards in lieu of Lake Spirit Awards to celebrate individuals by the decades who embody the essence of collaboration in the basin.

2019 Lake Spirit Award Winners

2018 Lake Spirit Award Winners

2017 Lake Spirit Award Winners

2015 Lake Spirit Award Winners

2014 Lake Spirit Award Winners

2013 Lake Spirit Award Winners

2012 Lake Spirit Award Winners

2011 Lake Spirit Award Winners