Members of Team Tahoe on the steps of The Capitol, Washington D.C. See names below.

March 13, 2024

Lake Tahoe leaders, Tahoe Regional Planning Agency (TRPA) and partner agency staff, scientists, and representatives of the private, non-profit, and business communities attended a press conference March 13 in Washington D.C. hosted by U.S. Congressman Kevin Kiley (R-CA). The event was organized to show support for extension of the Lake Tahoe Restoration Act, which is set to expire in September of this year. Dubbed by the late U.S. Senator Dianne Feinstein as Team Tahoe, the contingent of supporters united to visit legislators and share the importance of federal support to Lake Tahoe and its communities.

The Lake Tahoe Restoration Reauthorization Act provides funding for projects that support forest health, water for fire infrastructure, watershed restoration, water quality, aquatic invasives species control, Lahontan cutthroat trout recovery, and accountability. Since the Act’s passage in 2016, Lake Tahoe Environmental Improvement Program (EIP) partners have implemented hundreds of projects, substantially leveraged the federal investment with state, local, and private funding, and supported 1,700 jobs per year. To learn more, read the fact sheet that accompanied the team on their legislative visits.

Pictured from left to right:

Top/back row
University of Nevada, Reno, Tahoe Science Advisory Council

Dr. Sudeep Chandra, Director of the Global Water Center; past Co-Director of the Lake Tahoe Science Advisory Council; Professor, University of Nevada, Reno

Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, City of South Lake Tahoe

Cody Bass, Governing Board Member, Mayor

Tahoe Regional Planning Agency

Devin Middlebrook, Government Affairs Manager

Barton Health, South Tahoe Transportation Management Association

Chris Proctor, Director of Community Benefit and Business Development

League to Save Lake Tahoe

Steve Spurlock, Board Chair

North Tahoe Public Utility District

Bradley Johnson, General Manager

USDA Forest Service Lake Tahoe Basin Management Unit

Erick Walker, Forest Supervisor

USDA Forest Service Lake Tahoe Basin Management Unit

Charles Clark, Legislative and External Affairs Staff Officer

Middle row
League to Save Lake Tahoe

Dr. Darcie Collins, Chief Executive Officer

Tahoe Regional Planning Agency

Kimberly Caringer, Chief Partnerships Officer/Deputy Director

Lake Tahoe Community College

Laura Metune, Senior Director of Government Relations and Grant Development

Tahoe Transportation District

Carl Hasty, District Manager

Washoe Tribe of Nevada and California

Serrell Smokey, Chairman

League to Save Lake Tahoe, South Tahoe Transportation Management Association

Gavin Fieger, Policy Director

Tahoe Fund

Caitlin Meyer, Chief Programs Officer

Bottom/front row
Sustainable Community Advocates

Steve Teshara, Principal

League to Save Lake Tahoe

Laura Patten, Natural Resources Director

South Tahoe Public Utility District

Shelly Thomsen, Director of Public and Government Affairs

North Tahoe Public Utility District

Sarah Coolidge, Board President

Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, Placer County

Cindy Gustafson, Governing Board Chair, County Supervisor

Douglas County

Sharla Hales, County Commissioner

Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, Washoe County

Alexis Hill, Governing Board Member, County Commissioner

Tahoe Regional Planning Agency

Julie Regan, Executive Director

Not pictured
Tahoe Regional Planning Agency

Meghan Hayes, Governing Board Member, U.S. Presidential appointee